January 23, 2009

  • Vanedave is actually funny!

    So last Friday night, I went to the NY Comedy Club to see Vanedave perform live!

    He killed… his set was awesome!  I was more nervous than he was… cuz I knew if Dave sucked, I would have to get my lie on.  Or at least, I’d have to make ambiguously positive statements like, “Wow, I can’t believe you did that!  It takes a lot of guts to get on stage!”  <– Notice none of these statements depends on him actually being funny.

    But Vanedave was really funny (please note: his humor touched on Jesus, the Virgin Mary, and domestic violence… not for everyone).  You can see a video of his set on his blog.  The video actually doesn’t show how funny he was or how hard people were laughing… or how comfortable he was on stage.  I was really impressed!  I could never do something like that.

    I went out for drinks afterward with Dave and his girlfriend (it was great to meet you Denise!), and we ended up having a few cold ones.  There was a two drink minimum at the club, so I ended up having four beers inside of me.  I’ve cut way back on drinking, so I was definitely buzzin’.  That’s my excuse for giving him advice like:

    Oops!  Haha, I should’ve given Dave my “please don’t blog my drunken babble” speech.  What I meant by finding your angry lesbian is that, successful comedians seem to have a niche.  Like how Lenny Bruce was always yelling… and Dave Chappelle was always joking about race and identity.  Or how Russell Peters talks mostly about immigrants and Asians.  It seems like becoming a comic is all about finding your niche?

    Anyway I had a great time watching Dave perform, and would definitely recommend you check out one of his shows!  If he gives a heads up before his next performance, I’ll post it here.  If anyone wants to join, just let me know.  We can heckle him from the audience, and then blog about it… sound good?

Comments (43)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *