January 14, 2009

  • Xanga Survey

    Saw this survey on BrittMiles’s site, so filled it out on a break.

    What’s the reasoning behind your name?

    It’s my name.

    Do mass messages really annoy you?

    Vaguely.

    What about time stamping?

    Rampant timestamping annoys me.  I just think it’s rude.  The only exception is if you’ve added something new to the post.

    Could you list the colors of the xanga boxes without looking?

    I should hope so!  Blue, Red, Green, Orange, and Yellow.  Darn, I got the order wrong though.

    How many people do you have blocked?

    I can’t block people… it wouldn’t be very professional.

    Do you miss Xanga’s old homepage?

    There have been so many!  I miss them all…

    Xanga offers you a position on their workforce-do you accept?

    I don’t think this survey was targeted at me.

    What’s the dumbest thing to blog about?

    It’s your own blog; you can blog about whatever you want.

    Has Xanga become a bxtchfest?

    No, it has always been this way haha.

    What ish site would you like to add?

    Ugh I hate the term “ish” (we’re working on an official name for them).  We’ve had people ask for a subsite about art, one focused on humor, a video gaming site, and a few others.

    Do you have favorite people on Xanga?

    I love all the children of Xanga equally.

    Do you use Xanga to store pictures from your computer?

    I hate pictures.  Don’t you know – pictures steal your soul!

    Just kidding, I don’t believe in souls.  I don’t believe in pictures either though.

    What’s your profile picture of?

    It’s a drawing from explodingdog.com.  I don’t know why I like it.  Maybe a psychology major can fill me in on my subconscious desire to protect myself from loss.

    Do you vlog on Xanga?

    Nope.

    Copy and past the last 2 messages you sent:

    I send this one so much – ugh I hate managing Featured mostly because so many sites are locked:

    “Your post about _____ is great, and was submitted to be featured on our frontpage. We’d love to feature it, but your site is “Signin Locked”?

    Would you be willing to unlock your site for a week or so? Please let me know!”

    All my other messages are about customer service questions.  I have noticed that once I reply to a help question from my personal account, they will never contact our help desk again.  And yet I continue to do so…  I must have a limited capacity to learn.

    Copy and past the last 3 messages you received (not of the same thread as the sent.):

    I can’t do this for privacy reasons.

    Do you delete messages ever?

    I get too many to delete them.  Or, I’m too lazy.  Or both.

    Have you ever met somebody off Xanga?

    Maybe 100 times.

    Xanga is closing in ten minutes. What do you do?

    Take a long, long nap.

Comments (52)

  • We all know your last received message was a love letter from Theologian..

  • haha…can’t believe you did this. 

  • I don’t vlog either.

  • too many ish sites!

  • The survey actually asks for the content of messages? Geez, I’m pretty sure most of us would cite privacy reasons for not pasting a thing like that.

    Except for that “gimmee your phone number!” mass message that’s been making the rounds… XD

  • John, this was great! Hmm.. I had a sneaky feeling you were far more human than you initially let on. I still think everyone at Xanga is at LEAST part cyborg. It’s the only way you could do as much as you’ve done!  That’s a compliment by the way. Don’t block me. Oh wait… you can’t.

  • Hehe. 

  • Enjoyed your wit…

  • I guess we all have to give into the survey at some point.

  • Until five minutes ago my last three messages were all asking for my cell phone number. I’m not sure what’s worse, a survey asking you to share your private messages or private messages from people you don’t know asking you for personal information. 

  • As tempting as this survey is, I promised not to blog so much about Xanga.

  • “All my other messages are about customer service questions.  I have noticed that once I reply to a help question from my personal account, they will never contact our help desk again.  And yet I continue to do so…  I must have a limited capacity to learn.”

     I’m guilty of that!  SORRY!!!   And yet today.. I was actually looking for a place to ask for help and didn’t see it… so I gave up. 

    Pictures steal your soul… can’t say I’ve ever heard that before.  Also can’t say I agree.

  • You are hilarious.

  • I will never ever give in and do one of these surveys. They’re too myspace-ish. I don’t even do surveys on Myspace.

    Wait, you weren’t supposed to know I have a Myspace. Ooops.

    *sits in the corner*

  • @Dare2BDiferentt - I am trying to let people get to know the real me. And doesn’t the path to true understanding go through Surveys?  

  • Loved your answers, but “I love all the children of Xanga equally.” LIES! LIES!! …. lol … kidding…. was that a complisult? 

  • @shanella - Yes, my child.

    Kidding of course.

  • Similar answers like yours but I just used to be a moderator for xanga:
    What’s the reasoning behind your name?

    John:It’s my name.     PPhilip:Same for me too

    Do mass messages really annoy you?

    John:Vaguely.       PPhilip:Since I am no longer a moderator my opinion is no longer voiced that I hate/love mass messages. Furthermore voicing annoyance rarely achieves anything.

    What about time stamping?

    John:Rampant timestamping annoys me.  I just think it’s rude.  The only exception is if you’ve added something new to the post.
    PPhilip:  WTH is timestamping? Though someone who uses the same blog and gets it listed as a new one is way better than a short blog…..

    Could you list the colors of the xanga boxes without looking?

    John:I should hope so!  Blue, Red, Green, Orange, and Yellow.  Darn, I got the order wrong though.
    PPhilip: I guess I fail this question because I am not as invested with all the trivia associated with xanga.

    How many people do you have blocked?

    John:I can’t block people… it wouldn’t be very professional.
    PPhilip: I think I am blocked by two people, I wonder if anyone is blocking John? I am not a professional and don’t block anyone except one person for continual offensive language.

    Do you miss Xanga’s old homepage?

    John:There have been so many!  I miss them all…
    PPhilip: I haven’t been at xanga for that long and don’t care or do care whatever home page Xanga has been offering….

    Xanga offers you a position on their workforce-do you accept?

    John:I don’t think this survey was targeted at me.
    PPhilip: I was offered a job as moderator but it takes too much time, especially the videos….

    What’s the dumbest thing to blog about?

    John:It’s your own blog; you can blog about whatever you want.
    PPhilip: If I felt it was dumb, I would quickly remove/alter it.

    Do you have favorite people on Xanga?

    John:I love all the children of Xanga equally.
    PPhilip: Those that leave comments on my pages. I have to subscribe to those that infrequently post…

    Do you use Xanga to store pictures from your computer?

    PPhilip: I use Xanga and Flickr to store pictures but since I don’t have Premium at both sites I suppose they could all suddenly vanish.

    What’s your profile picture of?

    PPhilip: I saw the icon at Neopets and lifted it. It is good in winter and cool in summer.

    Xanga is closing in ten minutes. What do you do?

    John and PPhilip:Take a long, long nap.

  • this whole thing is funny coming from you. yah, obviously not meant for THE boss to answer….

  • i thought i was a xangan pimp but you have meet up too 100?

  • I love all the children of Xanga equally.

    yah, right.

  • I hate pictures.  Don’t you know – pictures steal your soul!

    Just kidding, I don’t believe in souls.  I don’t believe in pictures either though.

    i love pictures.  i’m such a vain pic whore, it’s not funny. 

  • I believe in soles. They’re very comforting to my feet.

  • I love that the Xanag Team actually responds to our questions.

    @john - Maybe you could change your profile picture to one of you. Like, for a day. See if anybody notices.

    If you don’t, people can still use Google.

  • lol with the costumer service question.  I hate asking you about things since I know you’re busy with other stuff.  But can you tell me where I can send my questions to?  I’ve can’t find the email link in the help section!

    -ray leeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  • this??? 

    Do you have favorite people on Xanga?
    I love all the children of Xanga equally.

    absolutely made me laugh…a lot. 
    almost made me want kneel and offer to wash your feet.  then i remembered…you’re just xanga john…not john the baptist or anything.   and feet kind of gross me out.

  • Wow. This bot does a great impression of a human blogger.

    Just kidding. And all the messages you get are customer-service related? I suppose it must be lonely at the top.

  • me thinks I’ll have to do this one now…(follow the leader…LOL)

  • John,I have a  few lovely,unposted photos of you. Your smile is nice.

    I never did post any of the Xanga team, but I did post the hallway,it is no wonder that you know those colors as often as you see them there.

  • OK, ignorance here… what is a “vlog”?

  • @MEluvCH - It’s one of those fancy abbreviations – it just means “video blog”.

  • @john - Ah… thanks!

  • @john - *ponders* Yeah, I guess you’re right.

    Btw, I think the “I love all the children of Xanga equally” was a tad off, nobody liked BBDD.  Nobody.

  • I don’t even know what the TSA is. I’ll have to Google it sometime. Insult to injury, John…insult to injury.  But at least I can say you visited my blog before the carted me away.

  • So, I’m assuming it was the Transportation Security Administration, however, I suppose it could be many of the other results as well:

    ~Tourette Syndrome Association

    ~Texas Society of Anesthesiologists

    okay, maybe the last one was a stretch.

  • @Xcholo4u - Stop associating with me, terrorist!

  • Ha, ha. I’ll be sure to give you up first upon interrogation.

  • LOL at the children of Xanga comment.

  • @jigg - You’re really asking John how to contact Xanga Help, when you could just google it in 3 seconds?!

  • @bob - Come on now Bob… John knew to ignore my comment.  lol.

    -ray leeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  • This is about the 173438749 time I’ve come across a xanga themed survey, and now I feel the pressure to fill one out and post it…damn. 

  • I’m afraid I’ve been guilty of replying to your personal acct.. (but only a few times!)

  • Wonder why xcitest told me that you will have a heart attack if I dropped my ice-cream…?

  • Hahaha.  “It’s my name.”  Well played!

  • Love the reasoning behind number 1 :)  

  • your responses made me laugh.

  • LOL got to love the people who try to get under your skin. asking ‘Do you have favorite people on Xanga?’    They’re really want to get you in the hot sit.  I like the way how to answer certain questions especially ‘love all the children of Xanga equally.’   If that was me, I would like * O *  mmm NO NO NO  & go away & pick someone else… :P

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *