December 31, 2008

  • I’m Yours

    I love this song:

    It’s nothing too fancy… and the lyrics make zero sense to me.  But as someone on VH1 just said, it sounds like fun, reminiscent of Bob Marley.  I especially love the chorus:

    Well open up your mind and see like me
    Open up your plans and damn you’re free
    Look into your heart and you’ll find love love love love
    Listen to the music of the moment, people dance and sing
    We’re just one big family
    And it’s our God-forsaken right to be loved love loved love loved

    Plus he scats…   do do doo dooja do dodja do doo dooja want to come on.  Scatting is hard, and I respect anyone who tries it.

    I went to songmeanings.net to see what the song meant.  Most people had no idea, but someone said this:

    This song is so intentional. To me, the message is as clear as day. Stop caring so much. He’s been spending too long making sure he looks perfect, to please everyone else. And there is still something wrong, so he does whatever he can to try and see whats wrong with him. And then his reflection gets blurry, and he forgets where he began. So he starts over again, and is finally able to enjoy who he truly is. So just stop working on your appearance so much and go with the flow, because the only opinion that matters in your life should be your own, and you can never truly change who you are.

    I’m glad someone was able to figure out the song.  I’ve been listening to it for an hour, and it still makes no sense to me… but it’s such a happy summer song, it’s hard not to bop your head to it.

    I think it’s just like the song lyrics say: there’s no need to complicate, cause our time is short.   Listen to the music of the moment people, dance and sing. We’re just one big family.  And it’s our God-forsaken right to be loved loved loved loved loved…

Comments (31)

  • Wow, I’d never heard of songmeanings.net. Once I was trying to find some insight into the lyrics of “Bye Bye Miss American Pie” and found several sites, but I don’t know if I ran across that one.

    It’s interesting how many of us aren’t satisfied with just listening to music… we want to know what the songwriter really meant.

  • :)  

  • i LOVE this song too!

  • I tried scatting once, but it ended up being incredibly messy.
     
    ….okay, bad joke, I know.

  • i love that song! i always got a different meaning from it, though.

  • i’ve been obsessed with this song ever since i heard it for the first time last week! (i know, i know. but i don’t usually listen to the radio).

    it’s a different sound, but, this song has got some great lyrics too. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HUO0gd7cr9o

  • awes! i love this song! (:
    i listened to it for an hour straight two days ago!
    it makes me all happy inside.
    and yeah, i kinda got that meaning, but i got another one;
    a lil bit different as well.

  • I just took this song as a happy song and I’m reminded of a warm summer driving to the coast with some of my good friends. :D

    Thanks for sharing..

  • scatting without looking like a fool is indeed an art.

  • I love that song! and I’m always searching up for song meanings too.. I love finding the one gem of understanding amongst the comments of “BEST SONG EVARRRR!! LOL!”

    yeah… haha

  • I love this song too. To me the sound is comforting.

  • I kind of roll my eyes (mentally) when girls squeal about how much they luuuuuuuuuve Jason Mraz, but this song IS a lot of fun for all those reasons you put out there. The mini-analysis and playing the video both made me smile today.

  • One of my faves of the year.

  • I’ve loved that song ever since I heard it three or so years ago :) I think the original version is actually better than the version that’s on the radio nowadays… I got to hear him perform it live last year at a school concert, which made me float on air for like months… Jason Mraz is my favorite artist ever =D

  • This song has been played one too many times in my car.  It does make one feel better.  The words are sewn together in stream of consciousness.  I kept singing it when I would come home until my dear husband told me to just hum along.    Apparently, I cannot scat.  

  • Wow, thank you for finding out what it meant for me! Ha. I, like many of the above commenters, love that song.

  • i LOVE this song too.  it just makes me happy whenever i hear it. 

  • I loved this song when I heard it 2 years ago.  Used to walk around campus singing it all the time haha.  Now that it’s a single I’ve sorta gotten sick of it.  Still, it’s a goodie.

  • I love that song also. I had added that album on my “i’m listening to..” but did not specifically point to that one. I also like the duet Lucky.

  • This song is very sweet. It always reminds me of a vacation that I took with my boyfriend this fall. We listened to this song over and over in the car.

  • I heard this song way before it came out on Mraz’s recent album… it was a sampler back in the day. A very good song, I love it.

  • I LOVE that song!! :) so wonderful!

  • one of my favorite songs of all time.

  • I LOVE JASON MRAZ!!!

    You should start reading his blogs, they’re amazingly well-versed and well-written. Quite inspirational too.

  • I LOVE THIS SONG TOO!! =D in fact i was listening to it yesterday! and i’m going to see him in april =D he’s a beaut! hehe

  • this song is so chill

  • My ex made me addicted to this song. He loved it. Now every time I listen to it it reminds me of him :)

  • you  know, i thought i was the only one who didnt get the lyrics to the song! i love the song itself, but i the lyrics confuse me. then i went to a wedding where the song was the couple’s first dance song, and that confused me even more. and after reading your entry, i realized that i’m never going to understand it, and it’s better off that i just enjoy it. lol

  • there are two conflicting messages out there that make the world go round:

    one is, care, be disciplined, work hard, try hard, get ahead, step up, climb the ladder to success, bypass the turtles, race with the hares.

    the other is, stop caring, don’t worry, it doesn’t mean anything to be the best, don’t be a label for success, just love and be happy and free.

    like in the movie the Dark Knight.  the Joker says something to Batman to the effect of, “without you, there’s no me. and vice versa.”

    it’s interesting.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *