December 29, 2008

  • “The Wrestler”

    I had a really bad headache tonight so I went to catch a movie: “The Wrestler”, starring Mickey Rourke as a washed up wrestler and Marisa Tomei as an Academy Award winning stripper.  I never thought I’d say this, but Mickey Rourke blew me away.  I really related to this story about a lonely wrestler who abuses steroids and whose only friend is an aging stripper, because haven’t we all been there?  The script was written by one of the writers from The Onion, which I would never have guessed.

    Anyway over the closing credits, this powerful acoustic guitar song came on with amazing lyrics about a one trick pony.  I figured it was a classic song that I was just ignorant about (this happens fairly often), but I googled it tonight and it turned out that Bruce Springsteen wrote the song just for the movie!  He did the piano, guitar and vocals, because he is the Boss.

    I especially love the opening lyrics (skip ahead to 1:10 to hear the lyrics):

    Have you ever seen a one trick pony in the fields so happy and free?
    If you’ve ever seen a one trick pony then you’ve seen me.
    Have you ever seen a one legged dog making his way down the street?
    If you’ve ever seen a one legged dog then you’ve seen me.

    I love how the lyrics touch on the fear that underneath it all, you’re nothing:

    Have you ever seen a scarecrow filled with nothing but dust and wheat?
    If you’ve ever seen that scarecrow then you’ve seen me.
    Have you ever seen a one armed man punch at nothing but the breeze?
    If you’ve ever seen a one armed man then you’ve seen me.

    Anyway the film wasn’t perfect, but I enjoyed it.  It’s not a date movie (too much stripping, not enough romance).  But it gave me a lot to think about. I’m also a one trick pony, although I’m not gonna tell you what my one trick is.

    I don’t think there’s anything wrong with being a one trick pony.  I’ll be doing my one trick until I die.  How about you – if you had to name the one thing that you’re best at, what would it be?  (Please don’t be a cliche and say sex.)

Comments (32)

  • hopefully itll be writing one day.
    and i was never interested in this movie but after reading this, i might see it… when it comes out on dvd.

  • The only thing I am any good at these days is writing… hoping to get better at it.

    P.S. I have always liked Mickey Rourke… actually like him better now that he isn’t so pretty.

  • Bruce Springsteen! More old skoolness.

    Until I’m officially published, the only thing I can be sure I’m really good at is spelling and grammar.

  • sex.

    i’d say reading voraciously

  • I’d like to say my one trick is being a good mom to my son.  Of course, I made lots of mistakes and I lose it once in a while.  But it seems to be the one thing that gives me the best feeling.

  • i think mine is discovering people’s strengths and remembering them when confronted with their weaknesses.

    great post

    great song

  • I haven’t heard of this movie but any movie that The Boss would specifically write music for must be pretty okay!

  • dlng this as we speak! er, or as i type this.

  • i liked the movie too

  • sounds like JCVD! i heard that was great too – too much stripping??? no such thing!!! how did marisa tomei look? =)

  • I was kind of looking forward to watching fellow high-school alum Marisa Tormei… perform, but to hear it described as “too much stripping”. Oh well.

    Still, 80.2% downloaded so I’m committed. I’m glad so many of the award nominees are watchable.

    My one trick seems to be getting 99% percentiles on standardized tests that I forget to study for.

    Oh wait, that’s “too much stripping” for a “date movie.” Well, that’s a different story.

  • I’m looking forward to seeing this movie!  Heard so many good stuff about it.  JCVD is another one that has a similar theme of the underdog rising back up. 

    Hmm, I don’t think I have any one trick I’m really good at…maybe being empathetic?  That’s kinda lame though haha.

  • I hope your headache has gone now John,   

    I have never even heard of The Wrestler.

  • I hadn’t heard about this movie…then again, that’s not new.  I don’t really know about many movies coming out.  Since the invention and installation of Tivo into my house, I watch almost no commercials or previews of any kind. :P haha.  Sounds like something to rent.  (I also don’t go out to the movies much, unless you include the kid flicks like Bolt and High School Musical…

    As for the one trick thing, I can’t even think of one for me.  :(   In the words of manilajones, “I have no redeeming qualities.” 

  • Ha. My one trick is desperation.

    I’m unhealthily good at it!

    Awkward self-deprecating answers aside, I’ve heard amazing things about that movie. Now I can’t wait to see it.

  • my ability to find things to be depressed about.  and the fact that i do think i’m a one trick pony is one consistent source of depression for me. 

  • That is a great song… the lyric… one legged dog throws me off a little because… well honestly… a ONE legged dog… I just don’t think so.

    You know, I don’t think there is any one thing I am good at, I have always felt that I am mediocer at everything… that’s me, my life is mediocrity…

  • I like to think I’m a two trick pony and just haven’t figured out the second trick yet.

    Anyway.

    Great song, and it looks like a great movie. 

    Y’know,  you should do movie reviews more often.  It gives you a reason to post (and something to post about),  and we kinda wonder about you.

  • @Dare2BDiferentt - I post and comment a good amount, no?

  • @john - Hmm,  I guess.  Most of the time, anyhow.

  • @Dare2BDiferentt - I don’t particularly feel an obligation to blog?  I blog when something comes to mind… been posting to Xanga since 1999, so I feel good about my contribution .

  • @john - Yeah,  that makes sense.  Sorry about that.

  • I saw this advertised it looks good.  Glad to get the thumbs up!

  • Bruce STOLE the name from Paul Simon dorkowitz

  • Thanks for sharing this song, John. I like it. It’s pretty. I didn’t grow up in a generation where Boss was… boss, but I can definitely respect him as an all-american golden boy (or whatever he’s supposed to be). 

    If I had to be known as one thing? Gosh! A dreamer. :)

  • One of the advantages you have being in NYC is that you get ALL the movies.

    I’ve really wanted to see this as I’m a Aronofsky fan (loved all three of his movies to date). I’m interested to see how this film plays since he didn’t have his DP, Matty Libatique.

  • best at?  nothing, actually.

  • the hubs wants to see that but i can’t stand looking at mickey rourke.

  • to a no trick pony, a one trick pony is a hero.

  • thanks, this song is great

    this movie is at the top of my to-see list, right after slumdog millionaire

  • I saw the preview of “the wrestler” when i went to see “Doubt”. Im really looking forward to seeing it, and now bc of this review, even more, haha.

    I dont know what my one trick is. -.-

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *