December 4, 2008

  • If you could relive any moment in the past, what would it be and why?

    I would like to go back in time and spend a few hours with my dad’s mom (my grandma).  She was a wonderful woman, and I was pretty young when she died.  I would go over to her place and borrow her library card so I could check books out.  I probably could’ve gotten one on my own at some point, but she really loved the visits.

    I think she’d get a kick out of talking to the current me.  The younger me wasn’t very impressive: really quiet, fobby accent, and no fashion sense.  Now I can fake being chatty and have lost my accent.  Still no fashion sense though, sorry Grandma.

    Anyway, I know the question was about reliving a moment in my past, but I don’t really want to relive any part of my life.  I always look forward, and almost never look back.  I don’t take pictures of myself and have no home videos.  When I go, this blog will be just about the only record of me.

    I just answered this Featured Question; you can answer it too!

Comments (29)

  • I’ll remember you , and since i’ve seen what you look like, I won’t need pictures to do so. I’ll have You Dont’ Know Jack to help me remember.

  • I was thinking I don’t want to go back to anything either… but the Gram idea is a great one… I would take a list of questions and a video camera…

    So the no pictures thing… is that part of the not looking back? Or more of an insecurity thing that you don’t want us to know about? lol  I know I tell you that your smart and good looking all of the time, but I never get the feeling that you believe me…

  • Aw. This was sweet. :)

    You don’t take photos of yourself? Wow. I don’t very often, but that’s because I’m not what you could call photogenic.

    You really do never look back. That’s a unique quality.

  • What is “fobby”?

    I too take very few photographs of myself. There is very little video footage of me (but if you look carefully at my Videos you can catch a glimps of me a couple of years ago. I don’t remember who took this or why, but it’s a memento of my Exponent days.

  • @ProfessorTom - fobby = like a FOB = Fresh Off the Boat = immigrant.

  • @StewieIsMyHero - Haha, you looked so happy when you got that game!

    @angi1972 - I don’t know why I don’t like pictures.  I never have, from a very early age.

    @ClockworkBunny - I do look back, mostly to learn from my (many) mistakes in life.

  • @john – So where did you come from?

  • I was so happy! It’s an awesome game, and also it brings back memories of my childhood when me and my sister used to play it online. Good times…

  • I think its great you have memories of and a reverence for your Grandma.  Too many young people today don’t know them, don’t want to know them and they miss so much a grandma can do for them, psychologically.  Grandma’s are important to each of our futures.  Grandma’s are good for hugs and kisses and they used to be good for home made cookies and the best of meals and if you press them, they have stories to tell.  Have a few photos of yourself taken John.  It’s important for you to be a part of the future generations history, the way you look, act and think.  I have always gotten the sense you are a really nice man.  Leave a few images so your posterity can look into your eyes and see it.  Have a really good week, Becca

  • that’s cool that you really never look back… i am usually the one behind the camera but i also like looking back on childhood photos to see how i’ve changed

  • i would go back to that pivotal moment where i was deciding whether I should take a chance with a certain guy – I would decide against, walk the other way, and never look back!

  • Awww, I would love to relive moments with my grandmother. I miss her so much! You really do have to wonder what family members would think if they could see how we are present day!

  • That’s so sweet! And lovely. All my grandparents are either a. dead or b. far away in Brazil. I wish I had a better relationship with them, but such is the price of living in the land of freedom.

    And woah, you’re asian? We learn something about john!

  • there is no john. only john 2.0

  • @ProfessorTom - @CallMeQuell - I’m half Japanese… born in Taiwan, lived in Japan and Korea then came to America when I was 3 or 4.

  • How do you fake being chatty? 

  • @john – I’ll be damned.

  • @mayanao - If other people are talk-y, I just ask them questions about their lives.  If I’m with a couple, I will ask them how they met.  If nobody is talking, I spark up a running commentary of what I like to think of as my nascent standup material (but is really just me babbling).

  • I couldn’t say. My past was complicated, but I got through it okay. I would have to really think about it.

  • that’s true, i hate to look back too. what’s done is done, now moving on, do better!

  • That was sweet of you. 

    And I agree,  what’s the point in looking back?  You’ve already lived the past anyway.

    Sorry if that sounded kinda harsh, it wasn’t mean to.

  • @john - Ah, I see. So you basically throw the ball back at them and make comments based on what they say. Thanks. I need to work on being “chatty.”

  • We can always learn from the past, but the past doesn’t dictate our future. :)

  • that time when i did a certain thing with this certain person.  i relive that moment in my head over and over again just to keep me sane.

  • At least there will be one photo of you that displays a funny memory – you dropping your ice cream! (reference to your profile picture)

  • man that is a toughie….

  • Pictures steal our souls.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *