December 12, 2008

  • The Personality of Comments

    Have you ever noticed that comments can reveal a lot about a Xangan?

    Here are a few comment personality types, along with a few hypothetical comments I’ll write to illustrate the style:

    • Selfish Commenter: “Your post about having cancer reminded me of this one time that I gave blood.  I was light headed for 10 minutes and almost passed out!  It was the worst.”
    • Traffic Whore: “I just wrote a great post – come check it out and rec it!”
    • Insulting Complimenter: “I usually disagree with your posts, but this is a great one!”
    • Comment Replier: “RYC: I just wanted to thank you for the thoughtful comment you left on my site.  Now I am going to post a long comment reply on your blog that is completely random and out of context.”
    • Original Gangsta: “I wrote a post just like this a few years ago.  It’s just like yours, but better and plus it was original. You probably saw it, but here is the link anyway.”

    EDIT: Some bonus comment personality types for you:

    • Reverse Questioner: “Interesting post. Do you think that two comment personality types could co-exist?  I think I’m both both a Comment Replier and a Selfish Commenter – do you think that’s possible???  Please reply.”
    • The Quibbler: “You make some good points, but you forgot about [insert obscure example here].  Therefore I am superior to you” (This last part is implied, and does not to be actually stated.)
    • The Departed: “This post offends me. I’m totally unsubscribing.” (thanks to steph843 for this one!)
    • The Literalist: “I do not understand sarcasm or humor, so I will take everything you just said completely literally.  Now I will get unnecessarily outraged and brutally flame you, ignoring the fact that every other commenter doesn’t seem very upset.”

    Ahh… so many different Comment Personalities.  What kind of comments do you usually leave?

Comments (345)

  • FIRST!

    (that’s wassup!)

  • haha if any of those, the first one.

  • I comment with completely irrelevant topics and inside jokes, while assuming every post is about me.

  • Oh man… I’m not any of those.  I’m a reader and commenter.  I try to stay in topic and say relevant stuff.   Sometimes I throw in a random happy comment, just cause I’m that kind of person… random and happy. 

    SMILE!!!   It’s good for you!  ( <-  see)

  • WHERE IS THE BACON

    NOW COMMENCES THE BUTTERSCOTCH

  • I am a “scan the post for something to comment” kind of commenter and if I can not think of one I plagiarize the comment above me.

  • I am the Comment Replier. I will try to do better staying in context.

  • It all depends on the author of the post.  Some comments are sarcastic, some humorous, some flirty, some serious…

  • Only fabulously composed, thoughtful, relevant and endearing comments from me.

    You should totally check out my latest post though.

  • Out of those options, I’m probably the most guilty of the first one X_X.  Hey, sometimes post just remind me of things in my life!  Haha…but yea, I try to mix up my comment type.  Sometime I’m serious, sometimes I’m silly, and sometimes I’m just agreeing.

    You know, this post remind me a lot like a post I wrote a couple of weeks ago.  It’s like yours, but a bit better.  Here’s a link: 

    j/k

  • Depends on where I comment.

  • Apparently on Xanga I get in touch with my inner thug.

    In defense of the practice, usually people will post about the same topics I post about within the same week, either earlier or later by a couple days.  I don’t mind it when they link their recent related posts, so I don’t see anything wrong with mentioning mine.

  • I tend to be selfish in that I try to relate to the post from my experience in order to show that I get what they’re saying. see, I just did it again:)

  • it just depends wear i comment.

  • I just comment on the content of the blog. If I have had a similar experience, I’ll throw in a couple sentences, but it’s really not about me. It’s just relating to the person I’m commenting on.

  • Ha! Usually something like…”Ha! Usually something like…’Ha! Usually something like…Ha! Usually something like… Ha! Usually something like…’”

  • good ones

  • I’m a habitual replier.

  • This post reminded me of some other entry that made me pause and laugh =)  haha  Why don’t you stop by mine–it’s good reading.  BTW–I’ve read similar posts on xanga, but good post anyway!  j/k!

    BTW–you forgot about the commenter who doesn’t even bother to read your whole entry and comments on it anyway TONS of those!

  • I comment so people know I came and appreciated their site. Yea. 

  • I am none of those!!   I always make relevant and insightful comments! 

  • None of the above. Thank goodness I guess!

  • hmm you make selfish commenters sound like a bad thing! what if they are just sharing similar experiences?

    hmm..i like to think that i just comment something that relates to the post. haha. 

  • None of the above.

  • Mostly 1 & 4. *looks down with guilt* (Thanks a lot, John!)

  • @trunthepaige - I commented on one of johns pulses with completely incorrect information last time. I had no idea what he was actually talking about. Luckily, Justin on the xanga team OWNS and did the whole xanga.com/ideas coding from what i understand. But thank you for your defense of my nonsensical comments. Apparently Im also a rambler.

  • @Drakonskyr - Are you Chef Brian?

  • Usually your posts are much better, but you’ve been going down in quality lately. I might have to unsubscribe from you if this doesn’t change.

    /That’s what kind of a commenter I am.
    //Just kidding.

  • Well, I try to leave thoughtful ones.  Once in a while, I can find my sense of humor and leave a funny one.

  • If I’m one of those, it’s the first. o_O (Did I just do it again?)

  • i’m a thoughtful commenter (i think) and i’m kind… most of the time….

    oh and i always leave hugs or kisses or both….

    (see?)

  • I used to comment a lot, but now not so much.

  • I’m a wordy commentor. Which makes sense because I’m wordy in real life. I also tend to give advice wherever I go…sprinkling it like a little advice-giving fairy, except without so much pink…
    ~V

  • Speaking of advice-sprinkling, I think you should update this post with more personalities!

  • Now,  see,  I was going to say something incredibly witty but then I forgot it because this post is actually about comments,  and for some weird reason I can’t leave rad comments on posts about comments.

    That actually made no sense.

    Wait,  I think.

  • how about those that say a variant of “great post” and that’s all, you never hear from them again

  • I’m a selfish OG, but most of the times I make comments having to do with their entries. My comments are constructive criticism too. For instance, if everyone flatters the person, I’ll nitpick something that I didn’t like, just to burst their bubble >:P 

  • I’m either a selfish one, a RYC one or just a silent eprop chica. *shrug* Rarely do I offer anything original these days. Maybe when I get back into Xanga hardcore. It’s a mild insterest at the moment but I might’ve maxed out all my Xanga Awesomeness this summer.
    = )

  • I’m outing myself.  I’m a selfish commenter.

  • i’ll see your question and raise you one…
    you tell me.

  • I know all about selfish commenters. This one time, I wrote this great post, and the first girl to comment just talked about herself and I was like “omg whatever” and she was all “whatever!” and I was like “WHATEVER!”

  • HA! Very funny, I’m not sure what kind of commenter I am. I usually have to comment quick because I don’t have a lot of time for Xanga and sometimes I’m doing quick sneaky peeks at work. It’s kind of hard to think of the best comments when your in stealth mode! Thanks for the laugh anyway :)

  • hmmm… this makes me wonder… what kind of commenter am I?

    I rarely get to see many different comment personalities. There are usually about 10 original ones (including the ones you mentioned above) and the rest are just “LOL” or “I so agree with that” or “Yeah, totally.” What can you expect?

  • i don’t know. what kind of comment is this?

  • I try to be none of the above.

  • @NVRSAD_DAY - I also am a comment replier hehehe

    But I typically add my own diddy on the topic at the end, kind of like this.

  • what kind of post is this? Check out mine now!
    -the sarcastic kind.

  • long ones.  I express myself in writing, so anything that is written tends to be insanely long.  now only if I could talk as much in person…

  • I’m a selfish AND insulting commenter.  Off topic but I love your little stick figure.

  • probably more often than not, my comment’s uninteresting, and quite possibly already was said lol

  • I have no idea which one I am :)

    xx

  •   Very clever—and, very true! 

  • I usually answer the question if there is one. Probably also give some experience I had (selfish commenter- I am just trying to bond!) Usually when I don’t know what to comment I read what others have commented. I hope I am not insulting but I can’t guarantee I have not been! XD

    Loved your post ^^

  • i just usually write “lol” or “thanks for the post” I know. boring, right?

  • I don’t leave comments…. ever.

  • I believe I fall in the “Comment Replier” Category. *blushes*

    But god I hate those Traffic Whores. lol.
    What are you?

  • pet peeves: comment replier and traffic whore.

    i commented you! comment me back, kay!?

    just kidding.

    i like to comment an attempted thoughtful comment after reading a post. :]

  • I pretty much only comment when I have something to say about what was written. Is this selfish since I’m talking about what I do, or does it not count ’cause you asked a question… now I’m paranoid. And still talking about myself. Still. 

  • You should write a follow up. There’s a lot of mileage still to be had from this post.

  • lulz i just usually leave something witty or comment on what i thought about it, dunno where that fits in, if that’s selfish well shoot me :3

  • This post just reminded me of a time that my wife and I went to Target and bought a gift for our children.

    You will want to come by and read my most recent post.  You should recommend it to.

    Your post usually suck.  I am surprised you could write a post that would connect.  Good job.

    RYC:  Yes, she does have a nice rack.

    One time a few years ago I wrote about this exact topic and it was epic.  You forgot to link me on it.

  • Mostly, my comments are irrelevant (:

    But I think thats okay, because generally they make sense, and they arent stupid, just annoying, you know?

  • Haha, very funny post, very true. I am definitely the selfish commenter (hard to admit) and, on occasion, the comment replier.

  • @danlang - I was wondering about the same thing when I pushed reply. Is this considered as selfish commenting too or is it one of those “exceptions” since we’re all here to reply to the question raised?

    @TheTheologiansCafe - LOL!

  • yeah. also the devil’s advocate one where they disagree just to disagree and get traffic as a result

  • I’m a semi-selfish commenter.  But eh, aren’t we all?

    Oh yeah, I dig the Exploding Dog profile pic. How long have you heard of it?

  • LOL! I’ve read sooo many comments like those!

  • ha. i’m usually the selfish one.

  • I don’t do any of those….I’m just me.

    usually I say what I liked about it and give too many smileys

    like this : ) or this :D or = )

    or if it’s realll special like this

    xD

  • You forgot the Sarah Palin commenter – adding little insight or thought to the actual post, except white noise.  Examples could be:  “I agree!”  “I so envy you!”  “I wish I could go there!” “Cool!” and other absolutely nonsensical replies.

  • the best type of commenter is the “haha. lol. this is great!”.

    i wish they could elaborate…

  • I deviate between relevant insights and scathing remarks. Often I’ll find a gem of a writer with perhaps two regular readers. Other times I can’t help but counter the orgy of ego stroking done by the mediocre high school culture of the most popular blogs.

  • So anyways, my car won’t start and it’s cold outside and this post reminds me that I’m out of grape jelly for my toast. Damn.  Actually, I think of a comment as a “miniature hug”. I love to give it thoughtfully so the recipient knows I read their post and didn’t skim it. jl

  • lol. i think i;m the first one. xD

  • Selfish commenter. BUT….I share experiences. And I get answers back. Other than that, I keep things on topic and add on to the convo. 

  • I guess I’d be the weird commenter. Consider yourself lucky if you get a comment that actually makes sense.

  • Nice topic. Anyways I’d say I always reply with something that relates to the topic but sometimes I will post something along the lines of what a selfish commenter would say.

  • I like to be different

  • The “Original Gangsta” type is so funny.
    Usually I don’t write anything relevant…

  • selfish i guess, but i don’t mean to. i just connect with people, i guess.

  • I don’t think that’s all the kind of commenter out there.

    But most of us are the selfish commenter who wants to relate to the writing. I don’t think it’s a negitive thing either.

  • lol…I try not to fall into any of those categories. 

  • Usually, most comments I get are little more than an acknowledgment that somebody read what I wrote.  Two or three people regularly leave “comments” that have no relation to what I wrote and are just a few words that imply, “I was here and took the time to leave some droppings.”

    A few actually comment on what I have written.  Those are great!  Sometimes people ask questions or express opinions on issues I have raised.  Those are even better.

    Spammers sometimes hit me, but never more than once.  Trolls and flamers tend to leave me alone after a first assault, too.

    BTW, John, the “reply” feature in comments really makes life easier for me.  Thanks, and thanks for the “edit comment” feature, too.  I keep reminding people that if they give up their old layouts and go to a theme, I’ll be able to edit my comments.

  • hahah I think I am more of the first one? XD But that’s still related to what the post was about. :P

  • The first one, but I’m just usually saying my experiences too . . . to relate. . . not to be selfish.
    But I also just respond to their blog? Yeah. :]

  • oh the selfish one for sure!

  • I usually get a blend of comments, no one certain style, but you can totally tell who bothered to read your post and who just wanted to get their 2-cents in for drama reasons or perhaps to get their good name out on as many sites as possible.

    BTW: I just wrote a great post – come check it out and rec it!  (couldn’t resist)

  • I just can’ t decide…

  • i’m mo def a selfish commenter.

    i’m like that in person as well – very untintentionally self-absorbed. irritates the hells out of me and probably out of others too. i can hardly even help it though. =/

  • Er…me? 
     Um. I’m not sure. I try to make them relevant to the entry I reply to, and I dislike talking about myself…so I try for a balance, depending on the circumstance.

    it’s not like I just sit around, analyzing how I comment, heh.

    Other people, oh yes. Because of the very reason you stated: comments show alot about other Xangan’s personalities! And people fascinate me.

  • haha i’ve never stopped to analyze my own comments.

    this is interesting and i enjoyed reading

  • oh wow….

    lemme try to be all of those in one…
    your post here just reminded me of how my comments have helped so many people in their lives….   sometimes in a big way, sometimes just to make people smile and have a brighter day…    somehow i have that natural gift….   i don’t usually brag about it, of course…
    oh yeah, your post definitely reminds me of one post i had a long time ago, http://www.xanga.com/maniacsicko/657015934/item.html

    it has to said though, your post make no sense whatsoever, i just don’t get it…
    RYC: erm, well, you have never commented on my posts, so i don’t even think what the heck that i’m commenting here to begin with…   geezz, what a waste of my precious time…
    so, how did i do? did i manage to be of all those personalities at the same time?

  • My mom always said if you can’t say something nice, you shouldn’t say anything. I carry that to the intarwebz!

  • Nice entry!
    I fit under

    Traffic Whore

    Selfish Commenter:

    :)

  • ryc: if it burns when you go to the restroom, yeah, definitely go to the doctor.

  • i wish i was famous like you…

  • i don’t know. sometimes i feel like i’m a bad commenter. not bad..maybe boring? i dont’ know.

    thanks for coming! it was great seeing you eating all my piglets…er i mean it was great seeing you! haha

  • Ooooh, I’m definitely the selfish commenter!  I relate everything back to myself…that’s why I love to read things, so that I can relate to them.

  • I tend to give advice. You should have included that kind of person as a category. =P

  • @grammarboy - heh, thx for the advice .

  • I’m a gangsta

  • I think im the selfish kind haha 

  • I leave nice comments on posts I like. Usually, I like to praise the writer or share a similar experience. Oh and I reply a lot. I think its cool to reply to what people say. 

  • FOR YOU…usually ones like this:  The MEologian still pulling your strings Nazi boy???

  • I’m the skimmer-commenter. Especially if the post has more than 50 words!

  • Complisauts
    ALL DAY, EVERY DAY BABY!!!!

  • I leave… good ones? I’m not sure.

  • I generally comment to say I agree or disagree. Or to offer words of encouragement. However sometimes I actually do have alterior motives, like I’m commenting someone, but I really just want them to check out my stuff. LOL, but I don’t say that. I just say, “great post, I really enjoyed reading it”

    soooooo,

    GREAT POST, I REALLY ENJOYED READING IT : ]

    juuustkidding.

  • Awwww, I think if I had to choose, I MIGHT be a selfish commenter.  but it definitely wasn’t as bad as how you exampled!

    -SgMl

  • Definitely the -what you wrote reminded me of the time… kind

  • hahaha i have a tendency to be a selfish commentor sometimes =/

  • I am totally the selfish commenter.

    This comment totally reinforces my above statement.

  • my comments are human

  • the first and the last. but only because I AM an OG and I always have good ideas that someone more popular will pick up later and everyone will say OH SO AWESOME and I fail because no one reads me. :(

    okay, so this happened like, once. BUT STILL. *pouts*

  • “I tend to be selfish in that I try to relate to the post from my experience in order to show that I get what they’re saying. see, I just did it again:)”

    I just stole PreciousOnyx’s comment because it said exactly what I would have written.  Now, I think I’ll go and meet PreciousOnyx!

  • it’s nice when the genuine one slips through
    i think the selfish one irks me the most

    thanks for the recommendation!

  • @mayanao - slaps you across the face

    I hate selfish commenters: always thinking about themself. ooops. covers mouth.

  • Oh no, I think I’m the first one. Which incidentally reminds me of this comment I left on someone’s blog about blogging, and I said this….haha. I jest. I won’t say what I commeted. But I’m sure there’s alot more different kinds of commenters. Like the one’s who start up flame-filled debates, for example, and the comments are a mess of people trying to prove to the world that they are right and the person who last posted a comment is intolerant/narrow minded/biased/stupid/misinformed/etc. Those are amusing to read.

  • Just so you know,  you were tagged in my last post but you are in it.

  • i’m probably a selfish commenter. but i’m awesome so it’s quite alright.

  • rofl i’m guilty of being a selfish one sometimes. oh here i am doing it again. 

  • err yeah, you completely forgot the “FIRST!” commenter.

  • And then there are the people who write blogs in the comment box.

  • I’m probably more of a selfish commenter, but hopefully not as extreme as the cancer/blood drawing scenario!

  • Interesting observation…never thought about that before! (-:

  • As for your question, it is has been my practice to stay on topic and actually read before I start typing. I have learned that commenting can be a bit tricky though.  There are various factors to consider. Perhaps this is the first time at someone’s blog, that is like going to someone’s house for the first time.  Then again, you don’t want to over analyze your comment.  I will confess, I sometimes second guess myself.

  • These kind. 

  • What about the sarcastic commenter?  Please reply.

  • I leave comments that usually pertain to the post.  even if I’m just commenting back, I feel dumb for not taking a look at what they actually wrote.

    and you asked this question so it’s not selfish ha

  • Ha ha I like the Reverse Questioner. Although, I am not the Reverse Questioner.

  • Not selfish… self-centered.

  • …a totally selfish comment here.  : )

    i once wrote a *post in a (comment) box*… so people would click in to read.

  • i leave asshole comments.

  • I think I roll all of those into one when I comment.

  • Methinks I’m a selfish commenter. :-3
    Oh, that sounds so bad.

  • bahaha i love the literalist. i had a run in with one of them one time. i wanted to just knock them in the head :P

  • hahaha this is so true. and i’ll admit i may have done some of these in the past. unintentionally, of course! :p

  • This post offends me. I’m totally unsubscribing.

  • Whatever I feel like. Yep.

  • I make very extra long comments using very repetitive and unnecessary words.
    I analyze specific sentences,copy and paste them and  then say what I think of each.
    I may or may not use an example of my life but only when it applies.
    I don’t think talking about my  life experience in response to a post is selfish but I think it helps the blogger to look at a similar experience objectively so they can make a right decision or change how they feel about something.

  • @JonasApproved -  Yeah, not a big fan of the first commenter.

  • @steph843 - Ah I forgot about the threatener!  I should add that to this list!!

  • click click, 2 e-props for me, and 2 for you

  • @Drakonskyr -  The clams bark at midnight!

  • Oh dear … I am totally the Selfish Commenter. Oops. I think it’s because I always try to relate someone’s experiences to my own.

    Oh well, my friends seem not to mind much.

  • Haha this is so interesting to read. =D

  • LOL.. are there any good comment types? honestly, what’s the point in interacting with people on xanga if all comments fall into these categories?

    I love what you said about “the Literalist”. funny stuff.

    <3

  • How about the self-deprecating commenter: leaving comments that make the blogger realize how superior he/she is and then vowing to shut up after it.  “Just stopping by to say you’re totally right.  I couldn’t have said it any better ’cause you’re so much smarter than I am.  Okay, I’ll shut up now. You’re always right, btw.  Now I really am going.  Really.”

  • @Alyxandri - Hey sorry… don’t mean to bag on Xanga.  I figured my love for Xanga was self evident!  I love comments of all kinds… I find them endlessly fun and fascinating.

  • haha probably the first one, if any :o )

  • It depends on the post and how much it pisses me off.  

  • You tricksy wabbit. One cannot answer the question posed without automatically becoming an archetype of one of the listed personalities.

    I demand that you recognize I am special and unique, just like everybody else, and expand your list to include my true commenting style.

    (That… was sarcasm, yo.)

  • I post self-conscious comments about how a blogger might expect a certain type of comment and so I’ll pointedly refuse to leave that kind of comment…

    oops

  • Cool post.

    I’m a selfish commenter replier

  • I get a lot of comments that are just for my amusement: short quips or jokes and stuff like that. Can’t think of a good example because they depend on the content of the post.

    I also get a lot of comments that are just “i agree” comments without any other content to them. “That’s so true.” , “You’re dead on.” Ironically you can sometimes find these commenters a week later agreeing to the exact opposite of what you were saying on somebody else’s blog.

    I also see a lot of comments that are just commiserating sort of comments: “I know how you feel”, “I hope you feel better” kinds of things.

    I’ve also seen flatterer type comments where people are like “You’re so awesome. I love you.”

    I think I’m something altogether different. I think I’ve been everything but the Departed and the Comment Replier before. But mostly I’d describe myself as the Tangentialist. I write comments that are my own rambling thoughts that go off on tangents and rarely have anything to do with what the blog writer was actually talking about.

  • I love your idea that you have going here, but all of your titles seem to be negative. Do you not think that people leave comments genuinely, and that they are really expressing their opinions about your posts?

    Now, I am going to be seen as what, the Quibbler? I’m not sure, but all in all, great idea. 

  • you can say i’m a quibbler.  but i don’t comment to imply that i’m superior. i’m usually just blunt and to the point.  but i always go back an clairfy if i get called out on it coz i really don’t mean to be rude, regardless of how its taken. 

  • lol were you offended?

  • Haha, good post! C: I think that at worst I’m a selfish commenter, but I try to only story-share when it’s actually, you know, relevant…:P’

    I think you should count up how many people make crazy jokes by pretending to be one of the above commenter personalities and make up a tally, seriously.  XD

  • none of the above i guess :)

    haha good post though. i like how u classify the comments.

  • lol idk, when i like a post i usually just write, ‘great post :D !’ haha. if i’m whatever about the post, i don’t leave a comment. 

  • haha, (selfish) i havent comment in years.

  • hahah i don’t think i am any of those things. D:
    i guess i’ve been a selfish commenter a couple of times, but hey, you make it sound bad. i just share an experience i’ve had that relates with it while also saying something relevant to the post.

  • i am the “comment replier”, and then i add acknowledgment to points made in the person’s post.
    sometimes i am the “selfish commenter” in that i do bring up a similar experience related to the post…but it doesn’t  sound/is not intended to be too selfish.

  • @you_were_the_song_all_along - You are right.  I will maybe write a list of positive commenter types.  I wrote it more as a joke, so went more for the comedy angle…

  • a little bit of each?  Although, the ones asking for a rec or talking about how great their post is bug the crap outta me.  

  • No comment …

  • Depends on the content I am reading.

    I may leave encouraging comments or an anecdotal. I may just answer the question being asked in the entry. I sometimes ask questions about what has been written for clarification. Other times, I may leave an insightful quote with an explanation that relates to the entry I just read. Often times, I just leave an opinion, especially with controversial topics.

  • I love this post,
    it’s something that I always thought about subconsciously,
    but never clarified to myself.
    I don’t think I fit into any of those categories,
    though!
    Usually when I comment somebody it’s because I really admire their writing,
    or the topic of the post,
    etc.
    And just wanted to let them know.
    Everybody deserves praise when it’s genuine!
    I realize that this comment fits into the Selfish Commenter/The Quibbler categories,
    though,
    haha. :)

  • Man, like 90% of the people who aren’t subscribed to me and read one of my posts are all literalists. Actual fights broke out over if vampires were real or not on my vampire post.Of course, it’s always more fun to just stir the pot instead of tell them it’s a joke.

  • “What kind of comments do you usually leave?”

    eh, i doubt not many bloggers fall into any one of these categories habitually, but i bet we all dabble in some of them occasionally. whether we admit it or not.

  • I don’t think I’m like any of those… ^^; I think I’m just a Nice Commenter :P

  • I’m the Comment Replier or Reverse Questioner. Sometimes I just ‘nod’ with a ‘great post’ or an even lazy smiley without words. I guess the last one could be called ‘lazy non-commenter’.

  • The fact that I don’t understand your sarcasm offends me, therefore I totally disagree with you and you didn’t even mention anything about the people who use all of those styles combined…but do you think I’m being too senstitive?? Hm. Well, at least this one was well written, (a rarity for you)..although of course if you read any more of my posts besides the one you commented on yesterday (thanks for that!) you would know my feelings already– that NO ONE leaves comments like the ones you’re talking about.

    (Heh. Brilliant post. Rock on.)

  • I’m not sure if I apply to any of those.  Usually I’ll just leave really, really, really, long comments.  Like epic comments.

    On featured blogs I’m an insulting commenter, ususally.  Most of the time I think the blog is pretty ridiculous (not yours haha), but that one a “Sexualized Society” I was like what the hell?!  And insulted him a lot..

    Oh and I always say take care!

    Take care!

  • Normally just neutral comments, but there is the occasional for or against the post comment.

  • what am I/?  lol.

    i don’t bother analyzing comments and what kind of personality seems to go behind it but.. i enjoyed reading ur post =]

  • i daresay i may be a mishmosh of all of the comment personalities, because each blog requires a different type of answer… XD

    HOWEVER i try not to get offended at anything posted unless it was purposely created to offend me (such instance i have yet to encounter) because that is just silly. everyone is entitled to his own opinion

    btw: lmao :)

  • i usually make a comment that basically restates the post. LOL

  • Good question – I’m not sure what kind of commenter I am, I’ll have to get back to you….lol  V

  • hahah you never said your comment type :O

  • Yikes! How many did you have to sift through in order to find all the types?

  • I do not know what I would call myself. Maybe I should just assume that I am all of them. hehe!

  • it depends on the post…..

  • Thank you, but the selfish person might just be thinking on your page.  The top bracket all look selfish.  The fact that you posted at all about selfish people without singling them out and explaining their behavior is kind’of selfish. 

    Same kind’of logic: Why would other people care about what you think when they have thoughts of their own?  Think to yourself.  Next to this put a monkey with a Harvard TM quote about how bloggers are just a bunch of monkeys.  And then, go to Korn’s “Evolution” and tell him to stop stealing from the smart, rude people.  They said it first. 

    Anyway, this is the worst: 

    <li>The Literalist: “I do not understand sarcasm or humor, so I will take everything you just said completely literally.  Now I will get unnecessarily outraged and brutally flame you, ignoring the fact that every other commenter doesn’t seem very upset.”

  • @StrawberryRose53 - Hmm, I’m not quite following.  Are you saying that my post reveals that I am selfish?

  • “I usually disagree with your posts, but this is a great one”

    That so sounds like me. But the people I send that one to tend to be friends.

     Whatever you call it, I tend to point out major logical flaws. Or I heap praise on things I like or I find challenging.

  • @john - now you have a hole in your ego.  No, I’m spotting holes in your logic, but I think it’s cool that you are trying to identify things.  Continue on!

  • i’m a little bit of everything, all rolled into one.

  • You forgot the random commenter. Real people are fake, guinea pigs are kinda cute, babybackbabybackbabyback ribs.

  • Hahahaha. Oh, man. This is TOO damn funny.

    @IamDonnaC - And I think you might fall into the selfish commenters category, since you talked about yourself throughout the whole thing. =] Haha.

  • @StrawberryRose53 - Ok, just trying to figure out what category to put your comment in. Kidding!

  • hahahaaa.how funny!

  • @john - please do.  Perhaps we can perfect this in one, and you can apply new knowledge to see if it works or not. 

  • I”m a scan replier

  • LMFAO @ THE LITERALIST. but i think there’s more than those commenters :] all of them are so negative!

  • Usually not many of those. I like to give genuine feedback, only telling a story of my own if the question is ever posed.

    I’ll also reply if it’s been an ongoing conversation, but those are seldom, as I will message in said instances.

    Cheers,

    Taylor

  • Well, I suppose I’m a Comment Replier.

    :D I like comments; If I don’t like what the person posted, I don’t bother leaving one. It kills the mood.

  • See now I’m afraid of commenting here…

    Don’t judge me!

    ( I love this post, by the way. Nice work!)

  • hehe. That’s pretty funny since it’s true that a lot of people *make themselves look a bit foolish* by commenting like that.

    I think the insulting commenter is the most amusing though because it sounds like they’re being completely sincere but at the same time completely oblivious that they’re insulting. ^^

    -Stephanie

  • This post totally reminds me of the fact that im the first one you mentioned, haha

  • I like to mix it up a bit… I have probably done each one at least once. hah. 

  • True and hilarious.  I almost never comment, but this just gave me a nudge. I’m one of those silent “nodders,” but no more, I guess. Great post. 

  • i personally dont like to be catagorized by people who i have never met.

    and i am not any of these.  i like to read the post and then give my skewed, damaged or random opinion on it.  i also like to include some humor in my comments.  none of these were my type of comment.  sorry! better luck next time. 

  • AHA. i love this post, but i never really thought about how i reply to things.. looks as if right now im the selfish one. haha. talkin about myself. =]  but thats okay. cuz im amazing.

    lol. jaykay.
    anyways. great post.

  • Honest and to the point – that or sarcasm…or something stupid and random.

    Frogs.

  • This post offends me. I’m totally unsubscribing.

    Oh wait…..

    CRAP!  I’m one of them!

  • I tend to leave comments regarding the blog or replying to a comment they left me.

    By the way, your post totally reminds me of this time I asked my subscribers a question, but it was better than your question, even though I didn’t get as many responses.  But, I know it was better because I’m just fucking awesome anyway.

  • I don’t know what you call it, maybe the Quibbler, but maybe not.  It seems that you left out the Professor, who will elaborate to the nth degree and discuss the whole post, point by point, critiquing the argument, explaining why they are right or wrong and where the argument is weak and needs some strengthening.

    This type of commenter leaves several paragraphs that are usually terminally boring and no one ever reads them all unless they are a Quibbler looking for a quibble.  Professors and Quibblers get into long dissertations using large words and sometimes flaming.

    It is possible that I am that type of commenter, however that could be up for debate.

  • You forgot about the “FIRST” commenters, therefore I am superior to you!

  • can i just say i like ur profile pic coz it makes me laugh..=)

    um and i am   bit of the first…

  • I just try to post something that is relevant to what the person is saying.

  • @seedsower - Aha you are giving away your secrets to commenting (the gotcha comment)@NVRSAD_DAY - Yes you do comment seriously, that is why I like you so much (the buttering up comment)@Drakonskyr - WTF? (comment to show I don’t get what you mean)@grinner08 - You are being defensive (I don’t know you but I am judging you comment)@LeelaJane - None of the above? Maybe you haven’t commented enough to be judged in any of the categories?@youngvan - I need more subscribers like you (wishful thinking comment.

    To all the people I replied to I was just having fun with John’s post…..no offense, I appologize if I seemed rude and wish you all (even the ones I don’t know ) a happy new year….

  • @PPhilip - No, I was trying to be funny, but apparently it didn’t work. 

  • Hahaha!  I don’t comment enough to really constitute a style, but you’re a really good writer (one of the better ones here around Xanga)!

  • Woo! Look! That’s me! The selfish commenter + the Quibbler, do you think that’s possible? Please reply.

  • The Reverse Questioner always leave me at a lost for words, and I usually have plenty of words to spare. 

  • Got no clue what type i am yet.
    HATE traffic whores though!

  • I was just thinking about how people’s personalities probably shape their comments and how I could write a post on an unrelated topic. This isn’t as good as what my post would be, but I’d give it a rec.  BTW, I did just write an average random post that you probably are not interested in reading. Maybe if you comment on my post I could reply to your comment on your next post and we can have a perpetual RYC going on. That would be cool even though I would be the one who started it. What do you think? Oh yah, back to the original question.. I don’t know which type I would be. I’m probably one or two types put together, except maybe not a whole part in itself. Would I be put into one category, both catergories, or a seperate third category that combines the two. That would have so many different permutations it’s almost unthinkable. I think you aren’t taking into account the people who are a little bit of multiple commenting personalities. That leaves me somewhat offended since that’s where I would be. I even wrote a post about how I feel left out in the world.

  • hahahaha, how funny! unfortunately, i may be the selfish commenter. can one help remembering their own experiences when one reads a post? ah well. happy new year, by the way! :D

  • This is a completely pointless entry, thus a pointless reply. But I figured I would say something. People will comment what they like, and it’s irrelevant for you to analyze their personalities based on a single comment, because more often than not, your prejudice online will probably be wrong if you don’t know them.

    Just a thought.

  • @haha_SxE - I would a new category to fit you into this post .

  • i hate commenting.
    and avoid it altogether.
    i am not a team player.
    boo.

    :)

  • These are very humorous. I’m certainly not any of those. In fact, I never comment blogs, I just like to read the blog along with the comments left by others and think about all the information I took in for a while. Then I just move to the next blog.

  • ahaha! what about those commenters who just go around leaving very brief and unthoughtful comments on EVERY featured post on xanga and its “-ish” sites, just to gain xanga credits? for example, a person will wirte a post about something controversial or personal. then this commenter will come and say “great post” or “i agree” or “that’s so funny.” if you’re going to comment, at least be thoughtful. geez!

  • “……”

     The ghost commenter

  • Aha, I’m usually the quibbler. :D

  • Ha ha. This was great. I would I guess be replier. :D

  • I am the commenter who’s perpetually nervous about all the literalists and hypersensitive commenters not getting my jokes or sarcasm. The paranoid commenter, then? Or just the normal commenter, I suppose — a somewhat cheeky line, then a serious line, both likely related to the post.

  • maybe a comment replier
    I dont fall under a specific* category =S

  • what about the whiney comlimenter with a need to be noticed…

    the ‘attention’ whore.

    ;] lol/

  • LOL huh… never really thought about it. kinda amusing tho… wonder how many categories we can make up for us commenters? hehe<3

  • I’m a random commenter. And I actually reads the blog first before I comment. I don’t think selfish commenters are that bad. At least they tried to share some past experience with you. Which is a lot better those who wrote a dismissive : Hi. Passing by. Comment back :)

  • there are always the ever present “lol” commenters, like myself.

    lol!

  • i’m guilty of being the literalist from time to time some people are horrible at sarcasm and it just goes over my head, plus i rarely read other people’s comments until its too late.

    well, & I guess due to this comment i’m also the selfish commenter. hmmf..

  • You just made my night. IDK what kind of commenter I am, but the literalist is definitely my favorite – where debators go, hilarity follows

  • From the selection you listed, there don’t seem to be any types of commenters that leave worthwhile comments. that’s unfortunate.

  • i would have to say if any above selfish… lol if i can add one it eould be the either Father/Mother advice giving type…  see i’m already doing it… which reminds me of the post i wrote few months back…  lol  

  • Now that I look at it. I don’t really fit into any of them…. (except this one could be considered as the first, but seeing as you posed a question…. I’m merely answering it.) But on a commenting basis… I’m not sure where I fit…. it’s a mixture of the Selfish Commenter… sometimes The Literalist… usually though I’m some type of wisdom feeding commentor? Not quite The Quibbler…but something like that….

  • lmao.
    that’s quite interesting, i think you’ll have to do a follow up one day and just make up more examples of personalities of comments.

  • I generally just comment how a post makes me feel.  Sometimes I’ll comment a reply to a comment on their site, but even then I try and then add something about their post. 

  • Interesting list haha, I’ll be on the lookout now!

  • well there are many more catigories you could add to that list of types of posters, of course if you really think about it the list would proubly just keep on going and going and going.  I’m what I guess you’d call  the blunt to the point, and yet still openminded.  boy that one was a mothfull, regreatably I don’t have any witty names to give that, but I’m sure someone can come up with one.

  • selfish commenter to the max.

  • Hahaha, I don’t think I am any of the above (hopefully). I do love reading Literalist comments though.

  • bahahahaha

    I love this.I can;t really catagorize myselfo:

  • It depends on the blog.

  • im the positive commenter.
    no matter how offended, or how much i agree it almost always ends with

    “great post!”

    im bad at commenting, hehe :D

  • So I just wrote this entry, a letter actually, and well this post reminds of some other post but not mine and then I sort of disagree but not really 

    meh, I’m too lazy to incorporate all of the personality types into one schizophrenic reply.

    But I do enjoy exploding dog!  hooray!

  • interesting post. umm…i really don’t know which one or if i would fit into one of those commenter types.

  • I use stealth. Like in Splinter Cell lol
    I don’t know which one i am, but i like
    commenting if i can relate so i guess
    this is an exception lol.

  • haha. i believe that i am a bit of a selfish commenter. i usually only comment when it’s relevant and when i think my story will help though. my favorite commenter is the type that is the creepy ex-boyfriend under a fake new xanga name and it says “hey, it’s me, jessica, from school. what’s up? what ever happened to your boyfriend?” and i comment back “quit checking up on me jerk. and by the way, my boyfriend got turned into the police for being an online predator commenting around as a 15 year old girl named jessica.”

  • if i don’t have anything nice to say, i usually don’t leave a comment. there are enough critics saying what i want to say anyway so why waste time and energy? i’ll get worked up about writing such a long tirade that they won’t even care to read it after thirty similar ones. now if it’s a pat on the back for an awesome post, no one can receive too many of those! like right now: i enjoyed this very insightful and humorous post =D 

  • perhaps mine can be a comment faintly familiar to the “kiss-up” type. those who go on and on to say how much that blogger rocks because they agree with them. 

    sometimes i wonder if they’ve really thought about the issue…or maybe they just want friends…really badlythose simple, empty one-liners deserve a category as well. “good job!” “that sucks man” or “aww cute” are so short, so unoriginal that in my opinion, they’re not even worth sharing.

  • Very witty post!

    Although I do find myself slightly worried about what I am writing, and how it comes across now! I think you may have just started a xanga insecurity epidemic.

  • This post made me lol. literally. xP
    I don’t know what type of commenter I am. Most likely the “comment replier”, but it all depends, I guess.
    I could go “Reverse Questioner” and ask what type of commenter you are?
    :]

  • I leave comments based on my past experiences. [:

  • hahaha great from now on im going to worry about which of these im acting like when i comment someone!

    nice post :)

  • unfortunately, i see a bit of myself in the “selfish commenter.”

    =/

  • XKCD commenter: “Everything not on your list.”

  • I don’t really fit into any of those categories 

  • Hum…I’m not really sure what type of commenter I am. There are probably a million other types that you have failed to mention, these that you have listed are the most obnoxious types, that stand out in your mind because they are that annoying.

  • Makes Me Laugh Everytime :D

    Its just like the typical Myspacer with angled, Mirror Pictures!

    YAY Lets state more of the obvious. Buahhaha i love it!

    Technology is the new generation BAM BAM

  • I am a selfish reverse-comment replier. How sad. ^_^ This is certainly interesting to think about, but I wonder what got you started thinking about it? Did the last post just have comments so bizarre that you starting thinking about this? ^_^

  • You know, some people just… comment.
    Kind of like how some people just… continue a conversation…
    by speaking…

    I think you have a strange brain.

  • I just wanted to tell you that I found this post to be an interesting novelty. I vaguely feel like you left out an arbitrary number of commenter personalities but am too apathetic to name any. I am really just posting this comment so that you will pay attention to me and suspect I may have good ideas to share. I don’t want to appear needy so I won’t ask you to read my blog even if I want you to. Have a good day!

  • I think probably most people are a combination of several types. It all depends on how well you know the person who posted.

    The people that aggravate me the most are the ones who post, ask you to come read and recommend, but never or hardly ever go to other sites to see what people are doing. Those are the selfish people, to me. They aren’t really interested in others…they are only interested in getting others to come boost their comment numbers so they can make the front page.

  • lol that’s funny! but you’re right..all jokes aside, it’s interesting to get a glimpse of the person behind the comment just from what they say or how they say it, but I guess it applies to blogs too XD

    I’m a bit confused on the insulting commentor example though, that doesn’t really seem like an insult to me hahaha

  • I don’t know…I don’t comment much….because by the time I read through the whole post I either don’t have any time left to comment, don’t have anything to say, totally FORGOT what I was going to say (augh!  I hate that!), or decide after I type out the comment that it sounds to silly and don’t post it.

    Oops, reading over my comment I just realized I’m a comment replier….oh dear.

  • ooh this is an awesome post. If you hadn’t done it first I would have. It reminds me of the time…..oh crap, I forgot what I was going to write….wait a minute….what is this post about anyway? Hey, don’t forget to stop by and visit me!

  • This reminds me of the time that I left a comment post on someone’s xanga.

    ;)

  • i read or skim over the entry and write. i usually try not to think about it…

  • lol, =) I enjoyed that. I’m guessing that I’m the selfish commenter, noticing the fact that I’m talking about myself, and what I thought! =) hehe

  • i usually just applaude and compliment the writer/blogger for their views and yea. thats about it.
    in-topic, i suppose ^-^

  • omg! i’m a quibbler!?!

  •  Yeah, isn’t it a shame that we just can’t use gestures?

  • I forgot the ‘I agree’ guy, the type of person who just leaves the comment, ‘I agree’ and that’s all.

  • Probably an “Experience Guru” type of commenter. I like to refer everything to a past experience of mine. If I don’t have one? Click the back browser…lol jkz

  • Sheep?

    Flobbit.

  • I try to be honest, and give props when they are due. If i disagree, I say so in a tactful way. Nothing wrong with having a different opinion, but it’s the way you come across with it that I believe counts. 

  • You should add a “spellchecker/grammar nazi” commenter! 

  • Probably all of them, at some point.

  • hmmm… there should be ”Complimenter”

    Some of us just tend to focus on the the positives and comment on that.

  • Definitely selfish…but I try to stay relevant. Also comment replier, but in the sense that I reply to peoples comments on the same post, not if they comment me and I’m just commenting back

  • You forgot about the purely insulting commenter who has absolutely no nice things to say, you prick. 

  • I’m a passionate commenter. If I post a comment (which is actually rare for me), I am usually very opinionated. But I am still considerate of the person I am posting to.

  • I am a selfish commenter. >:P But it really does depend on what post.

  • i’m probably a reverse questioner mixed with the quibbler, minus the superior implied attitude.  if it comes across that way, i swear i never mean it.

  • I think I’m all of them with the exceptions of traffic whore, The Literalist and  comment replier.

  • It depends on the post.  I try to be empathetic when someone is sharing an emotional experience, thoughtful when it’s a thought-provoking post, and a wise-ass when it was that kind of post to start with. 

  • Don’t know if I fall into any of those categories, but this was a clever post. Made me laugh. =D

  • I don’t think I fall into any of those categories!!

  • @AGreatPerhaps - Thanks!!  That was the point of the post… just to amuse. 

  • YOU HAVE OFFENDED ME.
    I AM NOT A LITERALIST!!

  • omg. i am a traffic whore

  • I agree with maebemaebenot–as far as Selfish Commenters are concerned (and yeah, I think I fit into that category), we’re just trying to share our similar experiences. What’s wrong with that?

  •  I mostly just leave a smiley cause I don’t know what to say.

  • @Madoushi_Shoujo - There’s nothing wrong with that!  This post was written to amuse readers .

  • This one made me laugh!

    I read and enjoy really well written posts and just wander on, leaving footprints but no comments most of the time.  I am learning that this ticks people off and trying to be more consistent about leaving comments…

  • you totally forgot the random commenter!! The people that just comment tottaly random words or phrases like “BACON” or some random movie line unrelated to the post. Just look at your comments on this post! It’s filled with them lol

    Anyway, that was a funny post :)

  • Your post got featured.

  • Hahahahahahah, that is so true. I definitely can see myself posting comments like that every now and then. Hahahaha.

  • @CaKaLusa - first the worst, second the best, third is the one with the hairy chest

    @resolc - that’s hilarious..  clever and witty..  right on.. ;)   but gosh, i didn’t know you had a hairy chest.  haha~ :P

  • Hi, John. Where can I find the credits for the stick figure in this post? I remember it comes from this great web site where you submit a phrase or thought and the guy draws it for you. Very original. Very creative. Can’t seem to locate it anymore and your page does not give the URL.

    Would you post it?
    Cheers

  • @antisoccermom - I agree I think that one of the main reasons we comment on other’s posts is it relates to us personally to some feeling or personal experience. We are all narcissitic, which is healthy when not taken to extemes. In the cases stated above it is taken too far. 

    I think I am a comment replier. I try to comment back those who comment me, to show that I appreciate their time. I do relate to my original post but also reply to the content on the post I am reading first. I am interested in seeing how this list grows as the number of comments and personalities proliferate.

  • the LOL commenter  

  • And John, some people don’t really comment… they reproach… make u feel like a pile of dirt…so just don’t care buddy! Nice post Cheers!  

  • wow… hahha you do have a lot of time to come up with this. =]] but i find it entertaining to read. ;]

  • Selfish commentor and Reverse Questioner for me, plus Thoughtful Commentor if it is on the site of my fav Xangan friends.  Otherwise, it’s Rubbish Commentor (one word ~ 5 words comments) for me on sites I don’t care about.

  • Agh, to be classified.

     I’m a smattering of a few of those. I don’t really care, though. People can delete my comments if they don’t like what I say. I think one of the big xanga bloggers like Dan or wherethefishlives made a post like this, because I remember feeling like crap for the same reason once.

  • If I comment, it’s usually an attempt to be funny!  That’s a type not listed… (although I haven’t read all the comments yet)… The Stand-Up Commedian!

  • what about the people who comment first and say “FIRST!” such as CaKaLusa?

  • hmmn, if its one asking a question…probably one answering the question.<< Haha, as I typed I realized what I was doing. But honestly, I think I like getting my opinion out there, and love it when someone is one the same page as me, or can relate. Its an awesome way to meet new xangans, and well, just makes the experience all the better.

    I think I know what kind of commenter i am….the rambler. <3

  • you really know how to alienate your users.

  • @explosive - I was attempting to amuse my readers?

  • i don’t know what king of commentor i am. I comment what i think and leave it at that

  • *quietly creeping around the back of the room*

  • Interesting post. Do you think that two comment personality types could co-exist?  I think I’m both both a Comment Replier and a Selfish Commenter – do you think that’s possible???  Please reply.

    How about the smart ass commenter? But in truth, I am all of the above at different times. Hurrah.

  • lol i’m definetly a selfish commenter. i just naturally end up referring everything to myself…..

  • haha, wow I don’t fall into any of those categories :)

  • i usually try to find an alternate way to look at whatever topic they posted on.  or i say something sarcastic.  or i say something i know will make people yell at me and then laugh at them while i egg it on.  and every once in a while i have a really honest comment to make.

  • Lmao, Im sorry but this post is hilarious! And the comments it evoked were especially choice. “I’m not any of these… bla bla bla” Cmon people…

  • I’m usually a selfish commenter – however,  I usually keep on topic.
    Just like everyone who seemed to comment here….
    because of course, if we read it, we are not these commenters, right?
    :P

  • Hm this post has offended me on so many levels. I think I will figuratively burn down your site now. ;)

    How could someone unsubscribe to you, John? I hadn’t previously thought that possible

  • @explosive - and you really know how to misread a blog.

  • I think I’m the first one too, but really I think it’s because I relate to the blogger just like others similar to me. They probably do it for the exact same reason. Maybe the Feeling Related Blogger?

  • All commenters welcome!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *