May 31, 2007

  • Harry Potter Themepark

    This just in:

    Potter buffs may soon be able to visit Hogwarts

    J.K. Rowling, who became the world’s first billion-dollar author
    on the back of Harry Potter’s success, has given the go-ahead for the
    creation of a Florida theme park dedicated to the schoolboy wizard.

    “The
    plans I have seen look incredibly exciting and I don’t think fans of
    the books or films will be disappointed,” Rowling said of the Orlando
    park that is scheduled to open in 2009.

    I can see it now: you’ll board the Hogwarts Express at Platform 9-3/4…  then disembark at Hogsmead Station, and take the boat with Hagrid to the magical coaches which bring you the rest of the way.

    OMG they’re going to make so much money.

Comments (34)

  • And I truly hope I’m first in line to turn over my cash. I might move in to the castle, if I can get away with it.

  • Universal Studios might finally start making money again. It should really bring in the crowds down here, as if Disney wasn’t enough.

    Can’t wait!

  • HOLY GUACAMOLE, ARE YOU SERIOUS?!!!!

    -EXCITED-

    There’s no way I’ll get there though. >__<

  • I am SO there.

  • I couldn’t care less

  • Sounds like they are going to make a lot of money just off of you.

  • The only forecast I consistently disagree with is Weather.com, because they insist it’s going to rain more than 90% of the time.  On the days they say it’s going to rain and I say it isn’t, I’m usually right.

    Still, I’d be willing to give that up if it meant I could be rid of arthritis.  I’m only 20 for pete’s sake!  I thought arthritis was for old people!

  • i just sat here shocked because this is going to be the most awesome thing on the face of this earth. 2009 is sooo far away!!!

  • omgggggggg i cant wait lol

  • i must be lame because i’ve never seen or read anythign about harry potter. i only know that it’s some kid with geeky glasses.

  • I stopped at book 3 . . .

    I can’t believe it came out that long ago. I think I first read them when I was in high school, which was over 7 years ago.

  • I have yet to read or see a Harry Potter book or movie.

  • I’m totally there with my Harry Potter underwear. I can’t wait.

  • *jumps up and down*

    Can I wear my robes and carry my wand?!?  

    (and no – I don’t want to grow up!)

  • Suddenly a lot of Americans will be getting passports!

  • LOL sounds like fun. Yet another reason to plan a trip to Great Britian; it’s been on my to-do list for too long.

  • get out!! i am so there! haha!

  • I haven’t read a single harry potter book or seen a single movie.

  • Ohhhhhhhh

    coool…I want to go…. and I never read the books…just follow the movies!

  • i stopped being interested in harry potter after book 4. is it just me or are the stories getting too predictable? the kids go to school, get into all kinds of trouble, there is a quidditch match, and voldemort tries to kill harry. yadda yadda yadda.

  • And I will be there to go play. I can’t wait!

  • I don’t know–I think it’ll be popular in the short term, but I’m not sure Potter will be popular even five or ten years from now. The craze seems to be dying out.

  • i hope they have a bunch of lord voldemorts running around scaring the hell out of these damn kids… lol what do they eat in magicville? haha

  • Wow.  I can see more:  You enter the hedgemaze and are beset by giant, artificially intelligent mechanical spiders with real working mandibles.  They chase you throw the maze where you are scratched by thorns and nearly set on fire several times.  You finally reach the center and you grab the trophy, and a guy covers your mouth from behind with a rag.  You inhale the chloroform, and next thing you know you wake up in the middle of a graveyard to a naked old guy with a Voldemort, sitting in a cauldron.

    *shudder*

  • i told my best friend, and she’s soo excited. it’s great. i started reading the books when i was 8 and just never stopped (i’m 16 now). she started…like, last year. she has a low attention span, so she’s never really had the self-control to make herself sit down with a series. but she’s really into it now, like i was when i was 8 (she’s a slow developer)

    i can roast her because we’re best friends, so don’t think i’m overly mean. that’s just the way we are.

    i’m pretty excited, too.

    that’d be a senior year, and we’re already planning a trip to florida during spring break, anyway. we might stop by hogwarts :)

    <3

  • how about a xanga themepark?

  • Why didn’t I think of that? Oh, maybe it’s because I never read any of the book and only saw the first movie. Yes, that’s probably it. :P

  • WHY are almost all the tags from Hong Kong???

    Out of all these comments i’m the second to VOTE  Guess i’m a voting fiend

    Saw the HP theme park on the news last night and am surprised they didn’t come up with it sooner. 

  • They had better do that castle justice… That’s all I can say.

  • I think I might actually go see it. (though some the peoples in costumes running around….that might be a bit freaky. only in voldie’s case, though) If they have Oliver Wood there, I’ll definitely go! : ) Yeah, I’m such a fangirl.

  • OMFG I wanna move to Florida and work there!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *